Are you Hearing him? (Matt. 17:5)

“While he yet spake, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them: and behold a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him (Matt. 17:5).”

This verse comes from Matthew’s account of Jesus’ transfiguration before Peter, James, and John. In verses 3-4 the three had just seen Moses and Elijah (Elias in the KJV). Peter then asks that three tabernacles be made for Jesus and the two men presented before him. After the cloud overshadows the disciples a voice says, “Hear ye him.”

This event makes me think of various verses in the New Testament that speak of people needing to hear the words of Jesus Christ. Heb. 1:1-2 mentions that God spoke in time past by the prophets, but now has spoken unto us by his Son. Elsewhere we see that hearing the words of Jesus is necessary to have eternal life:

“Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life (John 5:24).”

Are you hearing Jesus Christ through the Word of God, or are you listening to other people?

Leave a comment